Poetry editor: 3am magazine

The editorial duties at 3am remain something I am very privileged to have, very proud I am to be associated with the magazine. That being said such a thing is always tempered by certain reality. 30 subs a day on average, many of which are resolute in their derivation. Yet, though I have slowed in my responding to them, it is worth it when I claw out some genuine brilliance from people from all over the world.

The poets below are those I have published since my editorial stint began at 3am in 2011. It is a strong list. A list I am proud of. Open submissions are hard work but evidently worth the (extensive) effort. What better way to link up with brilliant poets from across the earth that I never would have known otherwise. And what a job those at 3am have done to make the magazine so respected, with such reach and power while still maintaining an intellectual but non pretentious aesthetic. Hard to do, harder to maintain: http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/index/poetry/  (June 2015)

Jerome Rothenberg http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/jeromerothenberg/
Paul Leyden http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/paulleyden/
Sarah James http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/sarahjames/
Freya Harwood Bond http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/freyaharwoodbond/
Charlie Baylis http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/charliebaylis/
Pam Brown http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/pambrown/
Kathryn Maris http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/kathrynmaris/
Erik Kennedy http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/erikkennedy/
Alex Houen http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/letter-to-a-neighbour-other-poems/
Mischa Foster Poole http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/unboxing-teardown-other-poems/
Ekaterina Samigulina & Karen Karnak http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/samigulinakarnak/
Gareth Evans http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/hard-by-in-globe-road/
Kate Wakeling http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/katewakeling/
Nisha Bhakoo http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/nishabhakoo/
Rosaire Appel http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/airport/
Tomáš Přidal http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/tomaspridal/
Amy Acre http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/amyacre/
Annabel Banks http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/annabelbanks/
Erich Brumback http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/one-blood-moon-for-july-other-poems/
Sarah Simon http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/sarahsimon/
Ana Prundaru http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/anaprundaru/
Emily Carney http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/emilycarney/
Michael Aird http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/michaelaird/
Johanna Hedva http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/johannahedva/
Graeme Smith http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/gssmith/
Adam Baron http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/adambaron/
Julia Lewis http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/julialewis/
Andrew K. Peterson http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/andrewkpeterson/
Matt Jakubowski http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/mattjakubowski/
Justin Karcher http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/justinkarcher/
Volodymyr Bilyk http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/heartbeat-footclick-and-machine-gun-vocalises/
Afshan Shafi http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/afshanshafi/
Peyton Burgess http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/peytonburgess/
Colin Lee Marshall http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/colinleemarshall/
Corey Wakeling http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/coreywakeling/
Shane Jesse Christmass http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/shanejessechristmass/
Tóroddur Poulsen http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/mundi-other-poems/
Martin Jackson http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/martin-jackson/
Nia Davies http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/cekoslovakyalilastiramadiklarimizdanmisiniz/
Simon Pomery http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/free-with-this-poetry-publication/
Mary Kasimor http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/mary-kasimor/
Dave Spittle - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/infectious-disease-and-cattle-other-poems/
Michael Shanks - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/michael-naghten-shanks/
Cali Dux - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/anatomical-terms-of-location/
JR Carpenter - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/this-sea-is-nothing-in-sight-but-isles/
Emilia Batchelor - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/emilia-batchelor/
Purdey Lord Kreiden - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/purdeylord-kreiden/
Angus Sinclair - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/from-sonnets-for-billy-barrix/
Christodoulos Makris - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/chances-are/
Nikki Lee Birdsey - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/nikkilee-birdsey/
Steve Komarnyckyj - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/steve-komarnyckyj/
Alex MacDonald - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/alex-macdonald-everything-is-fine/
Lauren Hilger - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/lauren-hilger/
Daisy Lafarge - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/daisy-lafarge/
Prudence Chamberlain - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/steubenville-other-poems/
Alison Gibb - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/alison-gibb/
Andy Spragg - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/andy-spragg/
Mark Dow http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/mark-dow/
Baron Geraldo http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/baron-gerald/
Laura Elliott http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/integral-formulations-of-irrational-arguments-other-poems/
Matthieu Baumier http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/baumie/
Aaron Evan Baker http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/assinaros-other-poems/
Nathan Thompson http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/signs/
Kim Campanello http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/tea-pleasures-bodies/
Will Alexander http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/anexusofphantomswillalexander/
Dusty Neu http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/truong-in-his-living-room-other-poems/
Rachel Sills http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/jen-nia-mondo-other-poems/
Patrick Williams - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/wysiwyg-other-poems/
Louis Armand - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/louis-armand/
Andrew James Weatherhead - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/america-other-poems/
James Byrne - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/james-byrne-drin/
The Becoming - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/the-becoming/
Iain Sinclair - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/iainsinclairbookfour/
Sammie Clifford - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/la-bestia-other-poems/
Jared Joseph - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/jared-josep/
Cody Laplante - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/the-spectators-generally-liked-the-pictures-at-an-exhibition/
JT Welsch http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/the-hell-creek-anthology/
Ji Young Lee http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/pan-door-ah-other-poems/
Jax NTP http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/neurotica-other-poems/
Voldymyr Bilik http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/volodymyr-bilyk/
Matt Cox http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/metropolis-other-poems/
Ben Stainton http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/ben-stainton-short-fish/
Robert Kiely http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/robert-kiely-attempt/
Bruno Neiva http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/bruno-neiva-pastoral/
nick-e melville http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/thought-experiment-31/
Ilenia Madelaire http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/the-extreme-clarity-of-things/
David Kelly http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/david-kell/
Penny Goringhttp://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/and-you-know-how-they-can-let-you-down-these-people-other-poems/ 
Alex Niven http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/new-york-poems/  
Stephen Connolly http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/stephen-connolly/  
Ryan Van Winkle http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/van-winkle-there-is-no-library-for-what-i-know-of-books/ 
Dustin Luke Nelson http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/argument-against-brevity-other-poems/
Bobby Parker http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/forms-of-divination/
Adam Napier http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/napier-long-distance-other-poems/
Christopher Rey Perez http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/the-story-of-the-pocho/
Jacob Silkstone http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/voices-blank-verse-a-lecture/
Paul Polansky http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/the-well-other-poems/
William Michael West http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/crash-other-poems/
Anselm Hollo http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/your-friend-anselm-hollo/
Dear World Renga http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/dear-world-renga/
Cristine Brache http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/biometrics-cristine-brache/
Will Burke http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/god-country-family-triggers-my-meat/
Francine Elena http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/ode-to-a-1980s-baton-twirling-world-champion-other-poems/
Julia Ciesielska http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/debauchery-other-poems/
Jose Hernandez Diaz http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/diaz-ballad-of-kukulkan-other-poems/
Gary J. Shipley http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/shipley-bengal-famine-mix-other-poems/
Jacqueline Lucile Tiven http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/lucile-tiven-the-nature-of-sin/
Mark Young - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/the-podunk-poems/
Adam Steiner - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/adam-steiner-omni-di/
Iain Britton - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/lipstick-lady/
Patrick Norris - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/patrick-norris-three-poems/
Sian S Rathore - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/worlds-worst-boat-race-other-poems/
Sophie Collins http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/the-white-lady-other-poems/
Julia Tillinghast Akalin - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/julia-tillinghast-akalin-how-the-strip-club/
Andy Barritt http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/andy-barritt-western-eyes/
Gareth Twose http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/top-ten-tyres-ltd/
Sarah Chapman - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/sarah-chapman-last-waltz/
Norman Savage - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/norman-savage-smokin-joe/
Rusty Kjarvik - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/rusty-kjarvik-my-new-bride/
Anna Kisby - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/anna-kisby-studies-in-hysteri/
Kent Johnson - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/homage-to-the-last-avant-garde/
Orchid Tierney - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/three-poems-orchid-tierney/
Roberto Garcia de Mesa (trans. Mario Dominguez Parra) http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/nausinoos-roberto-garcia-de-mesa/
Tom Sheehan - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/tom-sheehan-for-larry-eigner/
Ken Taylor - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/three-poems-ken-taylor/
Marc Blanc - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/three-poems-marc-blanc/
Gabby Gabby – http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/three-poems-18/
Steven Stark - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/three-poems-steven-stark/
Robert Herbert - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/six-poems-robert-herbert/
Samuel Ace - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/frame-of-house/
Tray Drumhann - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/four-poems-tray-drumhann/
Melissa Lee-Houghton - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/four-poems-melissa-lee-houghton/
Dennis Etzel Jnr - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/dennis-etzel-my-secret-war/
Felino A.Soriano - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/five-poems-felino-sorian/
Jo Langton - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/trust-jo-langton/
Steven Waling - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/steven-waling-four-poems/
Greg Thomas - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/five-poems-greg-thomas/
Christine Herzer - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/christine-herzer-five-poems/
Feliz Lucia Molina - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/four-poems-feliz-lucia-molina/
Alistair Noon - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/three-poems-alistair-noon/
Sarah Crewe - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/three-poems-sarah-crewe/
Nico Vassilakis - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/five-poems-nico-vassilakis/
Timothy O’Donnell - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/2-poems-timothy-odonnell/
Thoe Htane - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/thoe-htane-3-poems/
James Wilkes - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/james-wilkes-runners/
Richard Barrett - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/like-milk-richard-barrett/
Tom Chivers - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/the-herbals-tom-chivers/
Claire Potter - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/four-poems-claire-potter/
James Davies - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/james-davies-budgie/
Tim Atkins - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/tim-atkins-wrestlers/
Kristen Stone - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/kristen-stone-4-poems/
Grzegorz Wróblewski - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/grzegorz-wroblewski-5-poems/
Tammy Ho-Lai Ming - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/two-poems-tammy-ho-lai-ming/
Stephen Emmerson - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/stephen-emmerson-three-poems/
Philip Terry - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/philip-terry-canto-xxxiii/
Katerina Kashchavtseva - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/katerina-kashchavtseva-2-poems/
Darran Anderson - http://www.3ammagazine.com/3am/2-poems-darran-anderson/